{ARC} Book Review: The Serpent’s Curse by Tony Abbott

January 7, 2016 Review 0 ★★★

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

{ARC} Book Review: The Serpent’s Curse by Tony AbbottThe Serpent's Curse by Tony Abbott
Series: The Copernicus Legacy #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 2014 October 7
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 496
Format: E-book {ARC}
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

The Serpent’s Curse is the second full-length novel in the Copernicus Legacy, an epic tween adventure series that New York Times bestselling author Ridley Pearson says is “full of mystery and intrigue.”

Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca may have found the Copernicus Legacy’s first relic—a beautiful blue stone named after the constellation Vela—but they have lost much more than they have gained. Darrell’s mother, Sara, has been kidnapped by Galina Krause, the conniving leader of the Teutonic Order, who hopes that the renowned academic will lead her and her minions to the next relic.

That means the stakes couldn’t be higher for the Kaplan kids, who trek across the cold wilderness of Siberia, along the winding canals of Venice, and through the streets of Moscow’s Red Square in search of their beloved family member and the sought-after relic called the Serpens. In the process, they meet another network of Guardians and discover that Galina’s plan for Sara involves a scientific experiment that could jeopardize her life.

Filled with another globe-trotting quest and more riddles, puzzles, and secret histories, The Serpent’s Curse is a heart-stopping and suspenseful read for fans of Rick Riordan and Peter Lerangis. The second book in a six-book, six-novella journey, The Serpent’s Curse will leave readers hungry for the next adventure and excited to enter a sweepstakes to participate in a real-life scavenger hunt hosted by Tony Abbott that lets fans become part of the story.

Forbidden Stone was amazing. I wish I could say the same thing for The Serpent’s Curse.  Though it did not suffer the second book syndrome, I cannot say that it lived up to the stellar performance of its predecessor.  True, there are still the globe-trotting adventures, codes to be deciphered, and a parent to be saved; everything was not just the same.  The story felt long winded and I just couldn’t establish a connection to the story.  Maybe it’s because some of the twists were predictable or that they were revealed in the wrong time or maybe the important reveals didn’t feel that important at all.

Despite my gripes with The Serpent’s Curse, there are still a lot of things that I liked about it.  For one, the humor is still present but I hope that there was more because there are parts of the story that became unbearably monotonous. Second, I really appreciated the glimpse on Galina Krause’s past but I wish that it also provided an explanation as to how Galina became what she is at the present. But perhaps, that story will be revealed in the succeeding books.  Third, the fact that Abbott still managed to make the story a family adventure is praiseworthy even if there were moments that I was questioning Roald Kaplan’s capacity as a father.  The things that he’d allowed his charges to do, I was surprised that no one from the Social Welfare has called him yet. Tsk. And lastly, Russia.  What’s not to love about Russia?

So now that I’ve said it, it’s really the plot—as mentioned earlier—that cursed The Serpent’s Curse to suffer from a story that didn’t manage to thoroughly reel me in. The lack of character development can also be held liable regarding my feelings for this book.  I really adored the characters in the first book so I expected more from them while I was reading this. As far as I remember, one of my biggest issues in Forbidden Stone was the multiple POVs which hindered me from getting to know our characters really well.  Unfortunately, I still have the same problem with The Serpent’s Curse.  I felt like I’m just scratching at the surface and still uncertain whether there will be a chance in getting to know our characters better in the third book.

Overall, The Serpent’s Curse is an adequate sequel to the Forbidden Stone.

 

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started.